Thanksgiving in January

They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I have seen many things; I’ve beheld much beauty, and I am thankful. If God granted us only pleasure in simple things it would be enough. Today I will share with you these little pleasures that I hold close and ponder in my heart. In essence this is my Thanksgiving in January, so welcome, come in and join the feast. And don’t forget to bring a dish to share…

  •    I find beauty in the old things, whether it be buttons, or words, or wood. These objects that have withstood the test of time are worth lingering over: a delicacy which has simmered long until all the flavors blend.
  • I find beauty in the music of my native american flute, letting my heart sing through my lips with a joyful noise. The beat may be swift and merry or low and mournful. This is a delight I partake of every day, as I grow better at using the music as expression.
  • I find beauty in the church: my Savior’s bride. The change from pews to chairs, however insignificant, has reminded me that the church is the people, and has made me treasure all the more these times of fellowship as we feast around the table of the Lord.
  • I find beauty in our surprise midwinter baby goats. These ‘kids’ have placed new life upon my mind and have given me a hankering for spring. Winter may be my favorite season (working through the messy mud of the earth’s rebirth is not something I look forward to), but renewal is not so distasteful either. Colorful platters are not without their joys.
  •  I find beauty in my new notebook. It is not particularly elegant, but it is a picture frame for the words that lie within. I stayed up late the day I received it in order to begin the journey. Nothing compares to the aroma of new paper, and pages begging to be written upon. Nothing compares to these simple delights which I treasure in my heart today.

There are many more things that I could say in this space, but these will serve well in giving you ‘scribbled snatches’ of the banquet before me. As I invited you before, come, join in, and bring a smackerel of the joys of your heart as well.

Categories: My Life | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving in January

  1. I find beauty in my old, comfy turquoise crocs that shine color through all the mud on them.

    I find beauty in the fact that I’ve made my bed nearly every day for the past 3 weeks. So proud of myself. 🙂

    I find beauty in the rain that’s been coming and coming, and it makes me so happy. Rain is my friend.

    OH MY WORD, winter is your favourite too?? I love winter so much. I never did understand all the girls that sob for summer and tanning and their cute little t-shirts. Give me cold and fires and books any day. 🙂

  2. I love the way you phrased your new notebook…”a picture frame for the words that lie within”…that is EXACTLY how I feel about writing.
    You are such a talented writer! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

