Giving upwards

I fell hard yesterday. Think tackle mid jump followed by a full body slam sideways on a wrestling mat.The sad thing is I’d do it again in a second: it has always been my philosophy in sports to give it my all or not even try, playing halfheartedly just isn’t my thing. As I have said before on here the harder you play the harder  you fall, and as I have also said before I try to play hard at life. But yesterday I reconsidered, if you want the fancy word I did a self-evaluation, and I came up lacking. I always come up lacking. Living life to the fullest isn’t something that comes overnight, but I want to do it, I want someone to be able to say of me “She really lived.” But if I’m not careful I end up slipping backwards instead of making headway on the slippery slope to leading life to the fullest. I DON’T want that to happen. But somehow it has. So I’ve got to grab a scraggly bush and be more careful where I place my feet next time; I’ve got to give up my ways and attempt to follow Him up this mudslide. He always chooses that which seems impossible- that which is impossible in my own strength. Somehow I don’t think that’s an accident.

It’s lent. The weeks leading up to my favorite holiday are upon us, and ironically now is the time I am speaking of giving up. I’ve never been a fan of the whole giving up something for lent and then telling everyone and their brother what it is. That’s not fasting in my opinion, at least it’s not fasting for the right reasons. I’m not giving up something for lent, well not in the traditional sense. But since the fall I’ve been thinking about giving my all and then some. Giving up. Doesn’t that imply giving upwards? Giving to God which is God’s and to Ceaser what is Ceaser’s. It’s seems awful lot easier to figure out what is Ceaser’s sometimes. God doesn’t ask for much, “His yoke is easy, His burden is light”…that is if we let Him help us hold them.

Being all in all the time, letting Him live through me, giving up my flesh to fulfill goals for His kingdom. With His help that may well be my ‘giving up’ for lent. But see telling you that isn’t like telling you that I’m giving up TV for lent because I should already be letting Him live through me as a Christian. Telling you that is more like admitting that I’ve failed, and I’m not where I need to be, and asking you to hold me accountable to start being what my name implies. Christian: like Christ, it’s the calling I have accepted. I fell, chances are high that I will fall again, if you are my teammate I am asking you to hold me responsible to getting back up and giving my everything again because two are better than one. Let’s help each other get up and give up again. Are you in?

Categories: Ponderings | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Giving upwards

  1. Lin Turner

    Your honesty is encouraging. I will pray for us as we enjoy this journey together. Philippians 2:13 KJV says “For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.” God not only gives us the “want to” but helpls us with the “do.” “I [we] can do all things through him who strengthens me [us.] Philippians 4:13 NASB

  2. I’M IN WITH YOU!

    I think it’s bound to be challenging, especially when it’s not your nature. In a way, it’s rewiring – learning to live life hard when you’re really just scared of it.

    I know I’m not programmed to give everything to God, easily.

    Consecration is a day by day thing after all, I guess. Tripping alot, but the test is whether you go on anyways.

    We won’t give up. Not us. Not ever. Won’t we? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

