Impact

I’ve been thinking lately about impact. Our little lives can have such a profound impact on one another, which through  the ripple effect can reach thousands. It’s a sobering thought. Our lives and our words…a person whose life left a huge impact on me and innumerable others shared this quote shortly after we first met: “Words-so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.” (Nathaniel Hawthorn) There are so many whose faces I have never seen, yet whose words have left an undeniable mark on my life. And those that I have seen that have changed me always have this presence. It is something I do not think I can describe in words:the blending in yet standing out inexplicably.

Two journeys collide; two lines run parallel for a bit before again departing, fading into space. It seems like the majority of those who have great effect are gone before I am ready, there’s always one more  lesson, one more thing they could have said, one more discussion… I have learned to treasure, and recognize the impactors early. I’ve learned to say thank you, let them know I respect them before it’s too late. It takes a lot to earn my respect.

Sometimes I wonder who I’m impacting: if I am one that holds a mysterious atmosphere. I wonder if I am using all my words, both audible and written for a powerful good. I wonder if the Spirit of God is as apparent in me to others as it was in Joseph to Pharaoh. These are hard questions which I may never know the answers to until eternity. Some of those who have impacted me were not Christians- I wonder if the impact goes both ways. I have a lot of questions, and many suspicions, but I don’t have very many answers. “You can only give what you’ve found for yourself.” (Davis Bunn) I suppose what I am trying to get at is that it’s important to recognize the impactors in your life; it’s important to thank them before it’s too late. Life is never certain- I’m planning on spending the rest of mine in an attempt to make an impact for good through my words and actions, after all you never know how far that ripple might reach.

Categories: Ponderings | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Impact

  1. This is really great. I would say your words for sure impact me. I love what you said about the people who impact you always seem to leave to early. I know that feeling and it’s frustrating! I love that you learned that you need to say something to them sooner though. This is lovely.

    Much love.

    • It is good to know I’m not the only one who feels they leave too soon. I’ts good to know my words impact someone. I’m glad I stumbled on your blog Lexi, you are a lovely girl with a lot of heart.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

