Experiments

I know I haven’t posted in a while. I’ve slowed down lately. I’ll be back. I’ve been working through some things, and when I go to write them down nothing is coherent. There are a thousand ideas bouncing around in my head right now, eventually I’ll pick one, and be satisfied with the results. But for now I thought I’d share a couple of writing experiments I have tried lately. A story poem, and something called flash fiction (which is a story in very few words where you leave your reader to interpret). I’ll warn you ahead of time that they’re both rather depressing. I had a conversation once about why it’s easier to write sad poetry that effects people than happy poetry. We never really decided. Anyways I’m rambling (see), but with no further ado I’ll give you my experiments; let me know what you think. Poem first:

White stones they call from deep to deep
With whispers rarely heard.
The bones they fall: awake, asleep
Restless as it were.
Troubles above, and troubles below
For lives cut off too soon.
A lover above, that fatal blow;
She weeps within her room.
The sands of time, of triumph rare
Are sifting once again.
So none over the choppy blue
Recall these ill-fated men.
She led and lived a weary life
Now lying in a grave.
No longer is in tear filled strife
For bones that now decay.
Grain by grain they lie on land,
They find a resting place.
No longer at the ocean’s hand
Among the pirate’s race.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
She is indiscriminant in her taste for jewelry. Bones, chains, bottle caps. Everything is fair game. Black clothing overshadowed by adornments; metal swinging with the dreadlocks as her guitar wails. Raven, our worship leader. Not all that glitters is gold.
Categories: Poems | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Experiments

  1. I love these.

    That second one, there’s a world of stories behind that one. Shadow people.

    Keep writing, friend. I’m working through things right with you. 🙂

  2. murtaghsgirl

    Oh, the poem is so pretty. I never can write happy poems. There is just something sad about the rythm and flow of a poem.
    The flash fiction was good too. I’ve never heard of them before.

  3. Hi Veronicah, your blog has been listed at http://www.youngchristianbloggers.blogspot.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

