Come

The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price.

Revelation 22:17

Come, such a simple potent word: the great commission in a nutshell.  “Let the one who hears say come.” But how can I say come when there is no one to hear? When I’m here? At least if I was out there somewhere I would have the chance.  That which you have not had you do not crave; I never wanted chocolate until I had experienced it, I never wanted to say come until I’d had the chance. But I’ve had it now: the opportunities. I’ve been there now: surrounded by the lost, and I long to be there again, no longer isolated within four walls and a forest. Yes, I’ve failed the opportunities, and flunked the  questions, but at least I had the chance. At least I was learning. Maybe I’m learning here too: struggling with contentment, but it doesn’t feel nearly as important as that did.

In so many ways I envy her, and her, and her. They’re there, or at least they’ve been there surrounded by a mission and a purpose. I like being in the middle of the action. I’m not good at waiting. Time is short; we are reminded that over and over and over in Revelation, and yet I’m sitting here typing into a screen about my impatience, probably not saying anything worthwhile. I don’t really care that much about the big questions: where I will be a year from now, what I plan to do with my life. The basics are already mapped out in Christ, and I’ll cross those bridges when I come to them, but right now I want to be doing something. Yes, there are times for rest and relaxation, but I’ve crashed, and I’m back now. I’m ready for more.

Categories: My Life | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Come

  1. Once again, I HEAR YOU OUT THERE!

    I envy them too. I want a life like that. I feel stuck. I’m tired of resting.

    There are things bigger than me out there, AND I WANT THEM. Compared to them, everything else just look so…irrelevant.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

