Running on Empty

The blank page stares back at me after a week that has extracted everything that I had within me. I should be looking forward to tomorrow: a Sunday in the word. I am looking forward to tomorrow, but I’ll be in town all day. Sunday is supposed to be for rest and restoration, but sometimes it doesn’t work out that way. And so I sit here listening to old hymns, and trying to gain what I seem to have lost over the week. The little moments got me through. That single leaf floating down, driving over the bridge beneath a brilliant rainbow. Laughter.When life is insane, and so many people expect so much from me I have to remember who I’m living for.

I don’t have much more to give friends. I know that He can get us through anything. I know that He is always enough. I know that tomorrow is another day, and that yesterday is behind me. So I keep on living, and I keep on trying; I depend on a strength that is not my own. I screw up a lot, but I can’t waste time wallowing in the past. I have got to move on. I want to be able to say that I have fought the good fight, finished the race, and kept the faith. I need to maintain my integrity as an example throughout my crazy life. Your prayers are appreciated ..more than you can know.

I don’t have much to give, but let me say this: don’t give up. He can get you through. Lean on God all the way, seek Him first above everything else. Don’t let life’s insanity get in the way of your thirst for Him. It’s easy to trip, and it’s hard to stay on course. All things are possible with Him. I don’t know how the others get by without Him. More power to them. I could never have gotten as far as they have without collapsing. Still, someday it will all fall down unless you have the true foundation. Cling to God friends. He will get you (and me) through.

Categories: My Life | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Running on Empty

  1. Certainly I will pray for you.

    I was reading in 1 Kings this morning, and started with chapter 19 where Elijah is afraid, exhuasted, and discouraged and tells God he just wants to die. I thought of that when I read your post just now.

  2. Nastya Andreyevna

    “When life is insane, and so many people expect so much from me, I have to remember who I’m living for.”

    Once again, lol. I’ll spare you the long list of evidence that our roads are crossing for the 293rd time. 😉

    This past week, I jumped in with relish. Those first three days were the most successful I’ve had in I don’t know when. And then Thursday came, and I was hit out of nowhere. Suddenly I was being knocked all the way back into last year’s hiding under blankets. NOT that! I get mad because it seems so unfair.

    So I’ve been running on empty, too. I can’t do this, I can’t allow this to take me out, I keep telling myself. Not after all this time of working. No. It’s not going to. I won’t let it. I’ve got to keep going.

    I’ve got to remember who I’m living for. I’d never have the gut to keep swimming if I were doing it just for myself.

    I’m praying for you, too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

