Learning

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACan I be honest, and tell you that I do not know what I’m about to write? I am not worthy to instruct you on anything I have not mastered- and I haven’t mastered anything- so there is nothing to say except… Except that I’m attempting to adopt a life of worship even though it’s hard with a crazy schedule. Except that I’m relearning that the friends that stick aren’t the popular ones, but the ones that will acknowledge your presence no matter who is in the room. Except that people find it amusing when you’re childlike, even though wonder is a beautiful gift to posses.

But, you see, I haven’t mastered any of these, (not even close) and so there is nothing to say.  Life worship is difficult, no smash that, impossible. Living to glorify God defies the very essence of human nature. I can’t do  it without Him. The lonely are quick to acknowledge the supposedly popular who acknowledge them. It’s hard living in the two spheres, and not fitting into either one. And child likeness is good, but can be taken too far. The wonder of  appreciating old things with new eyes is not always highly thought of in sophisticated society.

These are some of the lessons I’ve been toiling over with life worship being the hardest one. I can’t permeate the world with His love as an act of worship unless my love tank is full. My love tank can’t be full unless I’ve spent time in His presence. Time-it’s a valuable commodity to be spent. But I had better spend it correctly. That’s another lesson. What lessons are you actively ingraining in your heart? How is God working to teach you? Our journeys may be walked out alone, but we are not meant to be isolated. Let’s share together in the learning.

Categories: My Life, Ponderings | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Learning

  1. “the ones who will acknowledge your presence no matter who is in the room.” are definitely the best kind of friends to have! The lesson that I am actively ingraining into my heart is to be thankful during mundane tasks. I caught myself grumbling while loading the dishwasher, tonight, and I switched over to thankfulness that I have a dishwasher and the health to do it myself. There are people in hospitals and care homes who would love to clean up their own kitchen again. This approach usually cuts my whining off right away!
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    • Yes, although sometimes I think it’s just as selfish for the unpopular to use me to become popular, as the popular to deny my existence. Truly close friends aren’t a specialty of mine.

      Living gratitude…that’s a hard one. These all look so much easier when laid out in print. But it sounds like God is helping you; He is good all the time. Thank you ever so much for the comment,
      V.

  2. I am not worthy to instruct you on anything I have not mastered- and I haven’t mastered anything- so there is nothing to say except…” Don’t forget you don’t have to write as a master instructing people. You can write as a traveler telling his story, with all of the ambiguity, uncertainity, and doubt that comes along the journey.

    You comment about time made me think of a passage of Scripture I have hanging on my wall: “Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another[…] And do this, undertanding the present time. The hour has come for you to wake up from your slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.” (Romans 13:8, 11-14)

    The longer one thinks about the lessons God is teaching at the present time, the longer the list becomes. If I were to shorten my list down to two, (just two!) I would say my lessons of the present time is learning to wait, and growing in trust.

    Keep up the walking, seeking, and learning! Some days you will fall, and fail, but God will pick you up.

    –Rundy

    • Yes, sometimes I think writing as a traveler is more effective.

      Oh, time is short! So short! Thank you for the conviction. It’s so easy to spend time dallying saying “There’s always tomorrow.” But there isn’t always tomorrow, and I don’t want to live with regrets.

      Yes, it is hard to keep it short isn’t it. I struggled with confining the post to just three. And I have to say those two are hitting me hard right now too. Walking, and seeking; learning, and falling. That sums up my journey right there.

      As usual you had just the right advice to help me out. Thanks so much,
      V.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

