Old Souls

“Gonna let the tide, and the time, and the tears wash my body clean.”

~La Conchinta

Old soul crying by the ocean. If I could make myself look how I feel…what then? I’d be old, yet reborn; I would be mysterious.  Right now trust is meeting the struggle, and I’m finally OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAcontent again. For the moment. I love the old souls; the fighting ones. It’s hard for me to let go of the few that I’ve found.

The strong of will, body, and heart attract me. Let me be strong too, but be stronger. Be weathered, and splintered beach wood, and I will embrace the art. The old and time-worn ones have been cut to the core. Only their truth remains. They’ll climb a mountain, laugh at the sea, and fight for what they believe in. Right or not they are strong, though not always honest-hiding under tough exteriors.

I sing of, long for, and love their kind. There’s the challenge to see if they’ll let me in; There’s camaraderie as we wonder together at the merciless souls, and the beautiful wilderness. We look at our generation, and don’t know weather to laugh or cry at their youth and stupidity. We may be youths, but what we’ve found goes deeper. 

Old soul crying by the ocean. I am like you. Let me be your friend.


(Something I wrote the other day.)

Categories: My Life, Ponderings | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Old Souls

  1. Nastya Andreyevna

    THIS IS BRILLIANT. (As always.)

    I’m really sorry I’ve sort of disappeared without a trace, but I’m not gone altogether. I’m still around, haunting your blog (although silently). 😉 Life’s been *#$&@)#$%* lately and I haven’t got energy, if you would pray that would be really nice. It’ll get better, but it’s rough.

    We will keep fighting and never never give in!

    Merry Christmas, friend! And thank you for everything.

    • Thank you. 🙂

      No problem. I’ve been praying for you friend. Yes, let’s keep fighting.
      Merry Christmas to you too. And no, thank you; you have no idea how much I treasure our friendship.

      By the way I had the brilliant idea that it would be cool to write actual letters to each other the other day. We don’t have to, of course, but let me know what you think.

      • Nastya Andreyevna

        HAHA brilliant idea, I’ve been in a write-letters-like-crazy mood lately. You might want to take advantage of the advantage while there’s still an advantage. 😉 I’m very much game – you have my email, send me your address and I’ll post you something stat!

        Also, Otis.tumblr.com. My new world for the time being.

      • Done.

        Yes, I looked that up yesterday day. I’m in a period of mourning for not being able to comment, but everything on there is absolutely amazing. So glad you’re back.

      • Nastya Andreyevna

        *othis.tumblr.com

  2. Glad you are feeling better! Keep up the writing.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

