Obedience

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAChristmas vacation gives me too much time to think, or maybe just enough. They say self examination is undervalued. Checking the growth chart every now and then is helpful. Checking to make sure you’re not stagnate, or worse going backwards. I suppose that’s why we have new years resolutions after Christmas and advent- after we’ve hopefully had time to quiet our hearts and think. But I digress. I’ve been pondering, and an ugly word has come to the forefront. A word I don’t associate with much enjoyment, or good times: obedience. I say I don’t like change, but I think I like rules less. I don’t think of them as bringing freedom, joy, and peace…well maybe peace, but half the time I would prefer chaos anyways. I’m selfish; I don’t like restrictions on free will.

I guess the thinking all started with a book. (So many journeys start that way.) A book  about a muslim woman’s conversion to Christianity. The way she prased it hit hard because it was so different from the things I had heard before. She said she kept finding that when she didn’t obey God the ‘glory of His prescence’ went away. I kept nodding my head, and wholehearted agreement because I know the feeling she was describing. It’s easier to obey the flesh and recieve what little immediate gratification there is. The old creature sees things as better that way until time goes by, and the emptiness creeps in. Then it’s repentance or die. I need the light, but it’s easier to fight back. I like fighting. It’s so much more difficult to turn the other cheek. But delayed gratification fills me when I obey “Vengance is mine…”

It’s really harder to fight with the flesh. It’s really worse when I disobey. Selfishness leaves me with many things hoarded, but nothing gained, with no hope to satisfy my soul. With too much time to think maybe I’ll transfer that head knowledge to heart knowledge, and those words to action. It’s so much easier to write things out than do them. Words are cheap, and faith without works is dead. Obedience to God is more than just reciporication…it’s not out of  guilt, but love.

This is the meat of discipleship, I think. It’s not always easy to swallow, but it fills beyond fickle feelings, and spiritual highs. Have you learned anything in the silence between Christmas and routine’s return? If so, please share, and if not there’s still tomorrow, so use it while it’s there. There’s still more Christmas vacation so I’ll keep thinking too. Maybe I’ll find more truths that are hard to swallow, and facts to transfer to my heart.

Categories: My Life, Ponderings | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Obedience

  1. I find it hard to believe you can have too much time to think!

    Your statement, “Obedience to God is more than just reciporication…it’s not out of guilt, but love” is very important. Too many people fall into the trap of making resolutions into a form of guilt alleviation, or some kind of browny-points plan to earn favor or standing with God. Far better is the heart which is moved, saying, “What is the love of God calling me toward? [in this coming day/month/year]”

    Obedience is always a good thing to come back too. I could use more of that also. But I guess at the present time a lot of my thoughts keep coming back to attitude. I mentioned in a comment a couple of posts ago that trust was an issue for me, but I would add to that. I would say love, the living heart’s attitude of love is my deficency. Thinking about what you wrote and obedience my thoughts suddenly went to what was written in Revelations:

    “To the angel[a] of the church in Ephesus write:

    These are the words of him who holds the seven stars in his right hand and walks among the seven golden lampstands: I know your deeds, your hard work and your perseverance. I know that you cannot tolerate wicked men, that you have tested those who claim to be apostles but are not, and have found them false. You have persevered and have endured hardships for my name, and have not grown weary.

    Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken your first love. Remember the height from which you have fallen! Repent and do the things you did at first. (Rev. 2:1-4)

    That shoots an arrow right to my heart. So yes, I think I need obedience too, but I think I need to start with the renewal of that first love first. That is where I am at.

    Hope the rest of your break brings you good things in God!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

