Prose Poetry

It’s been long enough that I’d like to put up some more writing stuff. I actually wrote this earlier this month, but I think it reflects where I am right now well. I don’t have a title yet, so I’m OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAopen to suggestions. Let me know what you think.

I wear feathers because I want to fly. I want to explore the depths, and heights of things. I want to go in soul, and in spirit to places most people are afraid of because they are uncomfortable. Comfort should not be allowed to stop adventure, virtue maybe, or  the Holy spirit, but not comfort. Comfort doesn’t like battling evil, or throwing caution to the wind for curiosity’s sake. There are lines. There are lines that I will not cross, but there are deserts, and rainforests far beyond civilization whose only lines involve danger, and comfort which I will stubbornly force myself to cross in the pursuit of…something.

God never meant for us to be content. We are far too easily satisfied; we trade the ocean for our slums, and mud pies. We trade vastness for narrow-minded life. We kill ourselves off slowly by denying ourselves the wonder of wandering at will. Productivity will never trump playfulness. Sometimes I lose the wonder for a moment or a day.  Sometimes I don’t even notice that it’s gone. It creeps out slowly upon overexposure to them: the safe and simple-minded ones.

When I notice the emptiness I leave them in order  to seek wonder, and I find it somewhere between the ocean and the mountaintop. I forgo sophisticatedness for a time. Though sometimes I am forced back into high society, and when I am I wear feathers: my reminder to fly. 

Categories: My Life, Poems, Ponderings | Tags: , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Prose Poetry

  1. Oooooo, I love this piece of writing. Especially; “Sometimes I lose the wonder for a moment or a day. Sometimes I don’t even notice that it’s gone.” Aaaaaamen!

    • Haha, thanks. I’ve been enjoying some of the poetry over at your blog too, especially “I Break for Maples”, and “Natures Cathedral”. Funny thing, last year I wrote a piece I titled “My Cathedral” about my time in nature with God. Great minds think alike!

  2. Title suggestions (1) “I Wear Feathers” or (2) “Sometimes I lose the Wonder”

    The first option very nicely captures how you open and close the peice. The second option has a nice ring to it.

    Just my 2 cents.

    • Yes, I like the ring of the second one, though I think I might shorten it and make it a little more active. “Losing the Wonder” maybe? I’m glad someone put forth some ideas. I’ve been kind of brain stuck with this one.

      • Yes, I agree the second option should be shortened. Either “Losing the Wonder” or “I Lose Wonder” works–each has a slightly different emphasis. (The second being much more personal with the retained “I.”)

  3. This is totally off topic but this book popped into my thoughts while I was writing today (as things tend to pop into my head while I am writing) and I wondered, “Have you read Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli?”

    • No, though I’m assuming I should? I googled it, and I think I recognize the cover from the library. Shall I add that to my list for after Till We Have Faces?

      • Yes, you should! I am going to go out on a limb here and say from what I have picked up from your writing that you may just have a bit of Stargirl in yourself. You can tell me if I am right after you read the book.

        BTW, Maniac Magee by the same author is another nice book. But read Stargirl first after Til We Have Faces….yeah, I think that should be enough for a little while.

    • Nastya Andreyevna

      STARGIRL IS AMAZING, I second that!!! Yes, hurry and read it!! (after Till We Have Faces).

      • Lol, ok guys, that’s next on my list. And, allow me to return the favor by reccomending some books that are near and dear to my heart. In some ways I like having a book list, but in other ways it’s a pain, cause I can’t highlight the books I really like.

        So here are three (fiction) must reads, if you read them let me know what you think:
        *Sutter’s Cross by W. Dale Cramer (his book Bad Ground is also really good, but in my opinion Sutter’s cross is better)
        *Heaven’s Wager by Ted Dekker (there is one character in this book that you absolutely MUST meet)
        *In High Places by Tom Morrisey (a good good story)

        I’m struggling to keep it down to three, but three it shall be.

      • We’re not conspiring together against you with the book recommendations, honest! 😉

        Thanks for the return recommendations. I am not sure how quickly I will get down to the library, but when I do I’ll make sure they are on the list.

        I must warn you that I can but quite the critical grump in regards to measuring books so I will certainly find some books you like not up to snuff in my literary tastes. That is okay–the world would be boring if we all liked all of the same books.

        BTW, you don’t have to limit yourself to three recommendations for forever but three at one time is probably a good number!

      • Oh, don’t be afraid that I’m limiting myself, quite to the contrary, I’ve read several other books in amidst the one you’ve reccomended and will continue to do so. Right now I’m reading the autobiography of the guy who wrote Stargirl (which I ordered on inter-library loan) along with Till We Have Faces (which I am almost done with.

        And as to your critical grumpiness:That’s okay I’d still like to hear your opinion on the books as you finish them.

      • Well, that’s good to know. But I’ll still wait until you’ve had a chance to read the already recommended books before I add more.

        I’m going to try to request your suggested books from the library tomorrow. Getting too late tonight…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

