In Which I Think

I thought today, walking down my driveway in bare feet and observing the violet butterfly which flitted around my ankles, how good I have it. We talked about that in class today, we threesome. J. Said that things were better now that his Mom remarried. All he has to worry about now is his real Dad doing something stupid and destroying the family name. Before, he said he had watched his Dad  hold a gun in his mouth, finger on the trigger. I said he had it bad, but he denied it.  I know he has friends who have seen worse. D. Said he had it bad, but J. and I disagreed. I know D. struggles with depression, but I also know that his life is like mine-easy. Caring Christian parents, and a loving household are things easily taken for granted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I thought today while hanging up shirts on the clothesline how we have it all wrong. So many of the emerging Christian teachers want to teach at Christian schools, but that’s  not where  most of the hurting are. Most of those who hurt the worst can’t be found at Christian schools for lack of religion or money. We say we want to  be able to make a difference, but we’re going to the wrong places. We send undercover missionaries to other countries, why not here? There are many more stories like J’.s.

I thought today, bringing in a full laundry basket and enjoying the sun’s warmth of what a friend of mine mentioned that his pastor said on Sunday.  “Our problem today is that we don’t read the Bible.” I tend to disagree. You can read the Bible and still be apathetic. You can read the Bible and keep it to yourself, within your Christian school for instance. Our problem is that we don’t know how to share God with a world resigned- a world that, in many ways, isn’t even seeking. Our problem is that we’re not even reaching our own youth, let alone the world.

I think today, reclining on my bed as I write these words out longhand, that whatever I do, whatever my future holds (which is  a matter I’ve been pondering a lot lately) that I want to reach those ones: the lost, needy, and ever running. They hide under a facade. Often times they’re the funnest and funniest kids in school. But they’re hurting. They hide in music, words, and laughter. They never allow silence long enough for reality to creep in. they’re far from perfect- often judged “the bad kids” –  but they need God just as much as me and you.

Categories: Ponderings | Tags: , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “In Which I Think

  1. Wow, so true. I teach at a Christian school for “bad kids.” There is so much brokenness and pain. But I’ve seen God slowly change a persons heart- it’s really, REALLY hard to share Jesus with a world that doesn’t appear to be seeking. But when we fight on our knees for them in prayer and be a living example of love, they can’t help but seek Him!

    • Yes. Your comment here seems to be providential, as lately the thought of teaching the “bad kids” in my future has entered my mind and laid heavy upon my heart. Fighting through prayer…Amen to everything you said. May God bless you and your ministry.

  2. I also think a lot about how well I have it.

    I agree with you that lack of Bible reading is not, fundimentally, the problem. The Pharisees were some of the greatest Bible readers ever–for all the good that did them. But, that being said, I think Bible reading is (in a manner of speaking) like good deeds. Neither Bible reading nor good deeds saves you but a lack of either says something about your spiritual life. The fruit of spiritual life is a desire to hear, know, and serve God. Bible reading and good deeds fuflill different parts of that fruit.

    I also agree with you that some people who are missionary minded miss the reality that we are all called to be God’s ambassadors whereever we are in our lives. Some of us are called to serve those near, others to serve those far away.

    • P.S. I have such a tendency to respond to the thoughts contained in your writing that I often fail to give comment on the craft of your style. So I just wanted to stop and say this post was nicely written. It has a good richness in description. I like your method of picking up and weaving of details of the day in with your thoughts so that we the reader, as it were, follow you along in the flow of your thoughts. The writing had a strong vividness to it, and a nice confident comfortable flow. Keep up the writing!

    • I agree that Bible reading is “like good deeds”. I’m glad that you agree that it’s not the fundamental problem. I wondered if someone would contest my view, but I’m pleased, and somewhat surprised to see that no one has.

      Thank you for the style critique/complement. I had wondered if it was too choppy, and I was glad to know that it flowed well. It’s always nice to have a comment on the writing once in a while.

      • Yes, failure to read the Bible is not the fundimental problem itself. But such failure is much related to your most recent post on questions! If (Christian) people have questions, hard questions, and want real answers they will search for them in the Bible–earnestly and eagerly (as you so well put it in your most recent post).

  3. Wow. Your words reflect everything that I’ve been thinking lately.

    I go to a public school and see so much pain in the lives of my peers. Some of the stories I’ve heard about abuse, depression, drugs, eating disorders, and relationships are absolutely heartbreaking.

    It bugs me when I hear people (especially “Christians”) talking rudely about the “bad kids”. Several of my closest friends are “bad kids”. Beneath their tough facades, they are some of the kindest, most generous people I know. And, often, they’re carrying a lot of undeserved hurt in their hearts. It also bugs me when those Christians brag about the teens going to Bible studies, youth groups, reading devotions, listening to Christian music only, etc., even when the outflow in their lives is arrogance and laziness when it comes to actually sharing their faith.

    I think that we as Christians need to spend less time in the Christian “bubble” and more time engaging people in the “real world”. I recently heard a statistic that Jesus spent about 10% of his time in the church and 90% of his time engaging people outside of the church. Perhaps if we started doing that, the world would change.

    Great post!

    • I can’t tell you how much it means to know that I’m not the only one. I can’t tell you how proud of you I am. That you are loving on them too.

      I’m curios if you’ve ever felt guilty when someone said that “Our closest friends should be Christians.”? I’m in the same boat as you (they are some of my closest friends), but sometimes that one gets me. The thing is that there aren’t any true Christians my age that I see daily to befriend. And I love those “bad kids” so much. They’re so much more real than everyone else even though they try to hide their hurting.

      I love that statistic. What a challenge. Thank you for your response–it has inspired me!

  4. I agree with everything you said. Very well written, as usual. I use my Bible time as shower time. (The washing of the word.) Jesus told Peter he just needed his feet washed. Today, as we are surrounded by so much filth, we need our “minds” washed regularly, so we are able to speak the words, and give the love, that changes lives. More than reading my Bible, I wash with it. Just a little different perspective to consider.

    • You always have such a unique and telling perspective. This fits well with what you’ve been writing about on your blog. Something to think about.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

