Questions

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI realized this week through an odd series of events how much I value questions. I’m interested in the whos,  hows, and whys of things, and I get extremely frustrated when leaders leave people’s questions unanswered. Saying “You just have to have faith– you can’t understand everything.” doesn’t cut it for me. Sure, Christianity relies on blind faith to an extent, but not wholly. There’s much more to it than that.

Because there are answers. There are stirring answers that ring true in my heart, and mean so much more since I’ve taken time and worked to  find them. Questions, hard questions, build my faith rather than breaking it. If we really believe that the Bible is true then why are we so afraid to let people investigate it? We’re losing people because we talk about irrelevance and ignore their questions– the things they would really listen to and hear.

I respect people who try to answer my questions. I respect people brave enough to dig. It takes a lot more effort to find answers to tough questions than to say “believe without seeing.” and I deeply appreciate those who expend such efforts on my behalf. I know you  care about  me if you care to answer my questions.

So, I urge you to ask tough questions, to not ignore or pass by the doubting, but to try to help them. It’s okay to say “I don’t know, but I’ll try to find out.” Follow up on other people’s inquiries of Scripture. Remember, real vulnerable people aren’t afraid to doubt openly. (I’m working on that.) Asking is one of the best ways to grow. Seeking, and knocking…these open new doors within the heart. It is exciting to help someone who’s asking. It’s refreshing to talk with someone real. I realized this week how much I value questions. Today this is my question: Do you?

Categories: My Life, Ponderings, rants | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Questions

  1. I don’t know if I can convey adequately in words how much I agree with this post and how true it is, and how important it is. So…I really don’t have anything to add. (And that’s pretty amazing for me, right? 😉 )

    So, very well said! And these things are important to me as well.

    • Well, that’s a first. Glad we’re agree here. Just today some kids I know were making fun of a younger kid who asked questions. It made me mad.

  2. I’m just curious. Does this post have anything to do with a recent blog post (in a blog I think we both read) about someone’s questions about the validity of the resurrection of Jesus? Perhaps, the timing of this post is coincidental, but it was a great reminder for me.

    I’m in the process of learning to value questions more. I used to debate frequently about topics such as abortion and evolution with a mindset that all of my ideas were correct. Now, I’m much more open to truly *listening* to the thoughts of others. I’ve come to realize that the questions of others often strengthen my own beliefs or expose my cluelessness about other issues. I no longer want to believe something just because it’s what my parents believe. I want to know for myself.

    • Hmm. Not sure what blog you’re talking about here. If it’s deeperstory (I checked out your blogroll to try and figure this one out) I may not have read it as I don’t get a chance to read every post on there anymore since they have the multiple sections. That is ironic though, as I just had a good talk with a friend who was doubting that same thing.

      Listening is such a valuable skill which is so underpracticed, by me especially. Yay for knowing things for ourselves. They are so much more amazing when we discover them for ourselves.

      • Oh, the blog I’m referencing isn’t on my blogroll. It’s a blog written by one of my friends I met on Susie. (Neither of us are on that website anymore, but we still keep in touch via e-mail and blogging.)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

