Tidbits

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen real life has taken over blog life and there are far too many things that I feel I need to explore in words on my own before I can write them here understandably, what am I to do? Maybe I will forsake reason, and do said exploring here, leaving you to wade through the muddle of my mind and sort it into piles. Maybe I will try to categorize things a bit, with a new paragraph for each topic . Maybe I will do a bit of both. In any case I wish you luck in understanding the following; please know that there is no guarantee this post will make sense. Read at your own risk.

It was good to see the ones I hadn’t seen in almost exactly a year last Sunday. It was grand to see them again, and relate as we always have through sports. After a hectic week lifting the weight off of my back through hockey was a wonderful experience. I guess the week wasn’t so much hectic as it was heavy, emotionally speaking of course. All the same, getting in the game and in the zone where everything fades away was good. I think I almost always have a better outlook on life after that game. Teamwork, mutual encouragement, and a lot of sweat must be a magic potion of sorts.

Speaking of the emotions of last week, I must say that I am less apprehensive about this summer than I was last. I will miss school, but the school time activities seem to be transferring into the summer time more. The volume of the people I’ll see may fade, but they won’t all leave. I wasn’t as close with this year’s seniors either. Still, I can’t believe it’s already the middle of June. I don’t want to wish the summer away, but I can’t wait for next school year either, though it is kind of a anticipation and dread. You can’t treasure every moment, and time is growing short.

On to a very different topic… I keep finding myself focusing on teaching. Bad teaching frustrates me even more than it used to, and a certain (new) good teacher I’ve found recently is even more appreciated. It’s not everyone who can make an applicable, powerful lesson out of Leviticus. I’ve been thinking about that lesson for almost a week now, and things keep connecting. You know, it’s not hard to obtain a wrong view of God. You know, it’s easy to do the right things for the wrong reasons, and I need to repent of that too. You know, God looks at the heart, at the reasons behind the actions.  Salvation is not based on works. It’s always hugely humbling when so many obvious things  come together and convict me as they have.

I’m trying to make time to think about all of those things, and change my motives. I’m supposed to have more time now that school is out, right? I’m trying to make time to write things out so that they make sense in my brain (Does anyone else do that?),  but things keep coming up. Scheduling trips, and loving on children near and dear to God’s heart… Yearly traditions that can’t be forsaken, and little chores that need to be done. I make time but never enough.

So there you have it. A rambling nonsensical post. It’s not quite as bad as I thought it would be, but it is a bit long. Hopefully a rambling blog post is better than no blog post. Well, that’s all I have to say ’til next time.

Categories: My Life, Ponderings | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Tidbits

  1. A rambling blog post is definitely better than no blog post. Besides, cut yourself a little slack. You’ve called this blog “Journaling a Journey” and one is allowed to ramble as much as they want in journal entries. At least I do in mine.

    I also write things out to sort my thoughts out.

    I share your frustration with bad teaching. Is this (new) good teacher someone you found online? If so, care to share the link?

    • True, true, my real journal rambles even more than this post.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who writes to sort out life.

      No, the new teacher I was talking about is someone real, so to speak. But, our summer Sunday school teacher is on DVD, and he has encouraged and challenged me a lot too, so I shall share a link to him. That is session 2. I’ve seen (and appreciated) sessions 2 and 3.Here is three.

  2. Beyond reviews and such, I haven’t truly blogged what’s really on my mind for quite a while. I enjoy reading your blog, BECAUSE you’re willing to ramble and pour out your thoughts for all the world to see.

    I don’t know if I told you yet, but I’ve decided to attend John Brown University. I’m excited and terrified about what the future holds. Surprisingly, feeling terrified has been a great experience thus far. Past experiences have shown me that the things that scare me are often the best things in life.

    • I’m glad you enjoy my ramblings and thoughts. There is a place for both types of blogging, and (for the record) I enjoy your blog too. After reading your book reviews I feel much more informed, and it’s also cool to see the neat things you get, like your graduation napkins.

      I believe you did tell me that you had decided on John Brown. I looked them up, as I had not heard of them before you said that. What you said about terrifying things being the best is so true. And now you have that decision out of your way. Yay for you! Hopefully I’ll decide what I want to do with my life eventually…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

