Intangible God

DSCN1089In so many ways I cling to the tangible in my friendships–my imperfect, cluttered human relationships, none of which go as deep as I would like. I can’t see friends’ souls so I cling to smirks and gestures which are  the displayers of emotion, of soul behind skin. I cling to the tangible so it’s hard to claim to have a relationship with the unseeable, intangible One who already knows me better than I know myself. Sometimes I say I can feel His smile, but that’s not the same as seeing it; sometimes I think I can hear Him speak,  His words but a whisper on the wind, but that’s not the same as knowing a person by his voice. Now we see dimly, but someday we shall see face to face. I’m not patient though. I don’t want to wait for this elusive someday. I have no choice.

See, the curtain ripped but not all was revealed. I’m still dealing with the results of the fall, and (sometimes subconsciously) longing for something more. I can never know God well here on this earth, though I try, for my life here is but a shadow and a mist. Even so I must live for the fraction of Him that I do know. While still here I must strive to know more of God, and to serve Him with all of my being. I doubt that I will ever know God fully, not even in eternity, but then at least I shall see Him. I wonder what will be like to see someone I’ve known all my life but never seen. I wonder if his revealment will be the perfect fulfillment, a kind of duh moment– “Of course that’s what He looks like!”–or if seeing God will totally surprise me and unveil Him in ways I had never thought to see Him before.

I feel that what I am writing may be very difficult to follow. I know it is unpolished at best. This, among other reasons, is why I’ve not been writing lately. It’s not that I’ve not been thinking and growing, but rather that my thoughts grow increasingly more intertwined and harder to categorize as working towards a cohesive point or goal as the days drag on. Doesn’t that sound deep and philosophical?

Categories: My Life, Ponderings | Tags: , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Intangible God

  1. Destinee

    That is such a cool thing to think about! And I had to think too…I wonder if when we see God, it will be like, “Oh, yes! I know You!!” or if it will be more the opposite. I know that doesn’t really make sense (and is even more unpolished than your post), but I wonder if our relationship with Him while we’re here on Earth will effect the way we feel about Him when we see Him face to face. Will we feel like we know Him well??

    • We could come up with so many more “I wonders” and never know the answers till heaven, but still I think it’s worth it. This imagining helps me see God with a new perspective.

  2. I’m trying to improve my visitation program. I was very secluded for a time, but it was good for me because I have better direction now, and enjoying it much. I think when we touch God we are touching the supernatural. The flesh trying to touch supernatural. Cool! What a challenge! But also the reason we see through a glass darkly. Love your words. Keep it up.

    • So good to ‘see’ you again friend.

      There is probably a reason we see only in part now. I don’t think we could handle God. What my brain comes up when I think of the supernatural (that which is overwhelming to me) is, I’m sure, underwhelming in the light of the truth of who God is.

  3. I did not find your post hard to follow. In my own words I would say that according to the imaginings of our earthly intellect we will be surprised, but according to the longings of our heart which God has already touched and changed by His Spirit we will then find him as exactly the answer to all our longings.

    By the way, the thing you are pondering about is called the Beatific Vision.

    If you would enjoy having your thinking poked further, read these excepts from C.S. Lewis: http://cslewis.wikispaces.com/Heaven If you find that stretches your thinking in an enjoyable way, you can consider reading further in Lewis’s writing (l mean, entire books he has written besides fiction). I think even from those excerpts at the above link its pretty apparent how Ted Dekker “stole” from Lewis in more ways than just from Lewis’s Weight of Glory essay so you may enjoy reading more of Lewis’s thinking just to see where some of Dekker’s thinking originated from.

    Finally, some of what you are saying here echoes very strongly what Spurgeon says here: http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0061.htm

    It’s a bit long-ish, and written in a bit archaic English, but take a look if you have time and if it catches your interest you can read it through. I’ll give you a little excerpt which I found particularly evocative:

    But then, beloved, Christ and we are not strangers; for we have often seen him in this glass of the Word. When by the Holy Spirit our poor eyes have been anointed with eye-salve, we have sometimes caught a sufficient glimpse of Christ to know him by it. We have never seen him except reflectedly. When we have looked on the Bible, he has been above us and looked down upon it; and we have looked there as into a looking glass, and have seen him “as in a glass darkly.” But we have seen enough of him to know him. And oh, methinks when I see him, I shall say, “That is the bridegroom I read of in Solomon’s Song; I am sure it is the same Lord that David used to sing of. I know that is Jesus, for he looks even now like that Jesus who said to the poor woman, ‘Neither do I condemn thee,’—like that blessed Jesus who said “Talitha Cumi,’—’Maid, I say unto thee, arise.'” We shall know him, because he will be so much like the Bible Jesus, that we shall recognise him at once.

    Yet more, we have known him better than by Scripture sometimes—by close and intimate fellowship with him. Why, we meet Jesus in the dark sometimes; but we have sweet conversation with him, and he puts his lips against our ear, and our lip goes so close to his ear, when we hold converse with him. Oh! we shall know him well enough when we see him.

  4. I read this post a while ago, but I’ve been thinking about it, and it reminded me of this:

    • Yes, I thought of that song a bit when writing. Even though it has been over-popularized to the point of redundancy it’s message still rings true.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

