Who I Am

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I am
A saint and a sinner–
A study in contrasts,
or contradictions,
or compromises.
I am
In no man’s land
Where people from both sides
ignore,
dissociate,
shun.
I am
Apparently terrifying because
I don’t fit the boxes.
I am
Slightly terrified because
I know I never will.
I’ll be
Forever alone,
Respected from a distance:
Feared,
Mocked,OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ignored
Always.
I am only (mostly) accepted by the open sinners
I love them.
 
I was
Once known as the awkward child among the saints.
They now make me as uncomfortable
As I make them.
I am
Too ‘good’ to be a blatant sinner;
Too bad to be a stained glass saint.
I am
Stuck
For Eternity
In between
Extremes.
Categories: Poems, Ponderings | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Who I Am

  1. Yay for not fitting in boxes!

    It is probably just because I have heard it so recently, but the back and forth of your poem reminded me of Joe Pug’s Hymn #101

  2. Yay and boo all together.

    I re-looked up that song, and I guess I an kind of see the resemblance.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.