Truth vs. Tradition

Watch me dis the tradition

You’ve held to so long.

Your tightly clenched fists are missing 

The point, though tradition’s not wrong.

 ¶

Wrap yourself around the pointless.

You are turning people off.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s your fault you’re a dying breed–

We see through your chatter, we block

You out. You aren’t real, just an empty shell.

 ¶

I want more.

 ¶

Where is the God

You buried in ritual and recitation?

We need a renaissance:

To break free from these trappings,

Go back to The Book.

 ¶

I’ll unmask the power you’ve run from.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Keep hiding, concealing, cowering behind your wall;

I’ll unleash the avalanche,

For somewhere amongst these ancient ashes

There is truth.

 ¶

Incant behind your alters in assemblies.

I’ll unveil Veritas.

You are strangling society…

Separating them from substance.

Your loath-ness to change

Dooms humans to Hades.

 ¶

Tradition doesn’t matter.

Retain truth, and dismiss the rest.

Don’t sacrifice souls for comfortable complacency.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Savior died for their salvation,

But you can’t alter your sermons, your songs…

That would be an abomination.

 ¶

Addicted to amenity;

Averse to alteration.

Tradition over truth

Imprecates society.

 ¶

Get over yourselves

Before you are blamed:

The cause of the casualty.’

Categories: Poems, rants | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Truth vs. Tradition

  1. Anonomyous

    Yes, I agree that tradition tends to take over true Christianity at times. On the other hand, I think we need to be careful that we don’t completely down tradition–one thing that helps me keep a positive attitude about tradition is realizing that there was a reason our forefathers began doing things the way they did. By now, we tend to forget the reason we’re doing it, and it becomes a ‘habit’, so to speak. We forget that there is a positive reason for doing it. I think we all need to take a closer look at the reasons we are doing what we are doing, and have a conviction for it, rather than doing just cause that’s how we’ve been taught and have always done it. That would be a powerful testimony for Christ, don’t you think? I don’t mean to down the poem that you posted. I really don’t. I just want to take a strong stand for the ‘traditions’ that we have, because I feel like they are being lost…and with the traditions are also going a lot of good values that are actually harmful to a Christian’s testimony and life. Thanks for posting this poem tho! It’s a really good reminder to keep my relationship with Jesus real…rather than only performing. God bless you as you journey in Him!

    • I try to see where all the people who say things similar to what you have said are coming from. I really do. I agree with you in part, as I said “tradition’s not wrong.” I agree that it would be good to take a look at why we’re doing what we’re doing. I agree that tradition is being lost, and that that fact is sad to a certain extent. And, as I stated in the poem we need to keep The Book. We can’t lose communion; we can’t forsake gathering together.

      I try to see your view (and I appreciate your kindness in the presenting of it), but I really agree with what Nastya said more. We are losing people because we cling to our tradition. Times have changed. Some aspects of the Church, and the gathering together should not change, but some should. Does that make sense? If not, let me know. Feel free to explain more of your view.

      I’ll end with a hearty amen to this quote of Nastya’s that says what I’m trying to get across well: ” A very large portion of my generation is being incredibly turned off by Christianity because its followers are more concerned how things should be done rather than how people can most be loved and helped.”

      • Destinee

        This is a bit of a late reply, but I haven’t found the time until now. Thank you for explaining more of your view (you as well, Nastya). I guess there’s one thing I’m not quite clear on, and that is what you exactly mean by ‘traditions’. I don’t want to say too much before I know exactly what you mean, because I know that internet can cause a lot of misunderstandings.
        I also want to say that I think what both of you said is true. Sadly. But. I also want to say that it may be true in situations where there is a maybe ‘dried-up church’, so to speak. I guess my experience has been VERY different from both of yours, the way it sounds, and so it is a bit hard for me to understand where you’re coming from. But I promise I’ll try. I think, as I said before, that our experiences have been extremely different from each other, causing us to feel very differently about this topic. And that’s ok. The important factor (as you both mentioned) is that we are real and willing to serve Him with everything we’ve got!
        I hope that neither of you feel like I’m being contradictory or unkind. I honestly don’t mean it that way AT ALL. I want to stand up for what I believe, and allow you to do the same. I feel like discussions like this can be a good thing, as long as we can keep loving each other for it. 🙂 I do enjoy debates (if you haven’t noticed already), but I don’t want to be contradictory just to have an argument. Thanks for letting me voice my opinion! Please voice more of yours as well, if you want to. And also, thanks for writing. I really enjoy reading your blog!

  2. Nastya Andreyevna

    Hi Veronicah! I know I’ve been absent forever but I couldn’t not comment on this poem, YEESSSS I love it and I think your points are dead on. Thank you for that, friend! 🙂

    I would like to respond to the anonymous comment above and say that I disagree. I feel that you missed the point of this poem. You stated that “there was a reason our forefathers began doing things the way they did”, but that reason was not because it was *THE WAY* to do things. The Christian fathers did things a certain way because it worked for them and helped to serve their faith in their time. The only worth a tradition has in its ability to help connect a soul to God’s heart, and because people and times and cultures vary so greatly, so will the means of helping someone build their spiritual relationship.

    It is a given fact that <culture is constantly in flux. Culture changes and context changes, and the instant Christians start digging in their heels and saying “This is the way things must be because this is the way things have been”, they lose their ability to help because the focus has shifted from “How can i best help this person find Jesus?” to “How can I manage to convert this person to this belief?”

    To think that tradition has any value in itself is not only a very shallow way of viewing Christianity, it is extremely harmful. It is exactly why Jesus lashed out at the Pharisees and spent his time with sinners. Why he criticised the faithful lawkeepers endlessly and had no other doctrine than “Love me, and love everyone else. Go and show my love.” A very large portion of my generation is being incredibly turned off by Christianity because its followers are more concerned how things should be done rather than how people can most be loved and helped. If a tradition is no longer working for the good of someone’s faith and is instead discouraging it, it needs to be discarded.

    I hope that brings some context to Veronicah’s poem!

    P.S. Thanks again friend, KEEP ON WRITING!!! 🙂

    • Nastya, so good to hear from you again! Also, it is really nice to have someone who FINALLY understands what I’m trying to say in this poem. What you said as an elaboration is exactly what I was trying to get across. More and more I keep running into people whom ‘we’ (the Church) have distanced from God mostly because of traditions, and it kills me that we can’t let go of tradition to embrace people. It’s ridiculous and horribly sad to be losing souls over this. In the debate of legalism versus love love should win out every time for Christ followers.

      But, you agree with me, so no need to keep expounding.. Thanks for the encouragement, and the urging to keep writing…which I am throwing right back at you. I really really enjoy what you write, and have missed seeing thoughts from you lately. I totally understand writer’s block and busy schedules, but I needed to say that anyways.

      Keep being un-resigned. Keep believing that there is hope. We must encourage each other.
      V.

  3. I like the artistic tone of the poem–it has a dark rumble to it. (Well, that is how *I* would describe it.)

    You know from things I have said previously that I see great problems with the institutional church–not sure if there is much to add here to that.

    It is important that we live truth and speak truth. Do it in love, yes, but do it no matter if we must walk alone.

    My thoughts often go back to the message to the seven churches in Revelation chapters 2 & 3. The rebuke to those churches have applied to many congregations–even today. But also (to end on a personal note) I think how those rebukes can apply even to our own hearts.

    • Yes, I agree that the poem has a bit of a dark rumble. Many I’ve read it to think it’s a bit too radical, but I just think it’s dangerously honest.

      I agree that the truth must be voiced despite the costs. And I’ve often read and pondered those Revelation chapters. They say much to us today.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

