To Save a Life

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“You can’t save the world.” #wordofadvicetome

Late night conversations with the truly desperate shake my soul. I quake, and I pray hard against the consuming evil. God is powerful, but they need to accept him. So many people praying…God has to win this battle. Right?

But there is a bitterness. The Enemy has a hold. With so many of the people I hear that God didn’t answer in their times of need. That they were “Christian”, but things just got worse with their prayers. And the bad people who hurt them have it good…while they struggle to meet the bills. What do you say to that?

I know I can’t save the world. But I know the One who can and has. And he loves them, he loves us–the broken, desperate ones–with a love so passionate that no one can fathom it. But we have to choose Him. He won’t inhabit us, and evil can have more of us, if we don’t choose him.

The battle still rages. Beyond the dimension of this world the fight over those in this world is occurring. And it is fierce. And it is bloody. The stakes are high. They fight for the beloved of God–each human’s soul.

But the people have to contribute. They have to choose.

Categories: My Life, Ponderings, rants | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “To Save a Life

  1. Late night conversations with the truly desperate shake my soul. I quake, and I pray hard against the consuming evil” Perhaps those are moments when our hearts more clearly recognize the truth, “There but for the grace of God go I.”

  2. Hmm. A good thought. I know we disagree on some things surrounding choice, but on this one thing I think we can agree: Apart from his grace we are incapable.We can’t save the people on our own. And that is a truly humbling thing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

