Help

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo you believe in spiritual warfare? I do. I have seen it, how the darkness attacks everyone and everything at once and strives to convince people to give up all hope. Because then it has won. I have experienced it. I have prayed, ad fought, and cried, and pleaded. When I have seen or felt no answer I have clung to hope because of the account in Daniel 10: “Fear not, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand and humbled yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words. The prince of the kingdom of Persia withstood me twenty-one days…” Evil fights God. God is stronger. My prayers matter. There is still hope. I have heard the testimonies of those who have made it through, and these too give me hope. This fight is not impossible. We are not damned.

I am here yet again, friends. The Enemy, the Deceiver is attacking those around me. Maybe because they got too close to me. Maybe because they don’t all know God, and the Dark One wants to ensure they never will. Maybe not. I don’t know. But I know it is strong and attacking hard, and I am not strong enough to hold it back. But I know the one who is. So I pray hard against the darkness. I plead for light. But I also know that in God’s plan one individual isn’t supposed to have to plead alone. I know “Where two are three are gathered…” I know the body of Christ is supposed to support me and come alongside me and fight with and for me. So I’m here. I’m asking for help.

I can’t tell you the details. There are people’s stories–lifetimes of hurt and bitterness that are not mine to share. But I know you can pray and be a powerful support regardless. I also know you are busy. I know you have your own lives and your own struggles. Even still, I am asking. I need your help. A few posts back I quoted someone who had said to me that I can’t save the world. But even further back than that I posted another quote, this one by Rich Mullins, saying that God has no plan B. We, the Church, are His plan for the salvation of the world.

So, all that to say this: Will you pray with me Church? Will you come behind me and support me? Thank you. I appreciate it. I love these people I am praying for so desperately. Your support would mean the world to me.

Categories: My Life, Ponderings, rants | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Help

  1. I have been praying as you requested these last several days.

    I hesitate to quibble with your Rich Mullins qoute–first, because it isn’t the main point of your post, and second because I don’t know its original context (which may alter the nuance of what was intended by Rich). However, with that hesitation noted, I am going to raise a concern with how that qoute comes across. You say “God has no plan B. We, the Church, are His plan for the salvation of the world.” But at best this is poorly stated, Biblically speaking. Most certainly God has no “Plan B” but his plan for the salvation of the world is Jesus Christ, not the church. It is only as we are grafted into Christ and becomes members of his body that we become vessels for the outworking of his salvation in the world. Jesus said, “No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:4-5, NIV). It is Christ who is the plan of salvation, and it is only as we are in him that we participate in that. And as it says elsewhere “God’s secret plan has now been revealed to us; it is a plan centered on Christ, designed long ago according to his good pleasure. And this is his plan: At the right time he will bring everything together under the authority of Christ — everything in heaven and on earth” (Eph 1:9-10, NLT).

    If we are in Chirst we will bear fruit in accord with God’s plan of salvation in Jesus Christ. So the strong call to action remains. We should intercede even as Jesus interceded for Peter (Luke 22:32) for by living as Jesus did we show that he is in us, and God’s salvation is working out through us. Perhaps that is exactly what you meant. But the way you (or Rich) phrased it above can give readers (especially those not familiar with the Scriptures) the impression that God tossed the whole “salvation plan” thing in the lap of His church and He is now up in heaven wringing his hands because we might flub it and ruin His whole salvation thing. But the truth that God’s plan of salvation cannot be thwarted by us is vividly illustrated in the story of Esther. When Haman’s plan to destroy the Jews is unleashed and Esther gets cold feet about going to the king because she is afraid for her own life Mordecai doesn’t say, “Esther, you have to do it! God doesn’t have a plan B!” Quite the contrary, Mordecai says, “Do not think that because you are in the king’s house you alone of all the Jews will escape. For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish.” (Esther 4:13-14). God isn’t limited by us. He is not too weak to find other means. The warning to Esther is not that she would (or could) thwart God’s salvation, but rather that if she did not act she would damn herself. The same is true for us.

    The reason we do the things we do is not because God’s plan of salvation will come crashing down if we don’t keep running in the hamster wheel fast enough. Rather it is because if we are truly grafted into Christ we will bear fruit. If we are not bearing fruit it means we will be burned up–not that someone else will be burned up.

    I say this to encourage you. When we see the power of Satan and the strength of his lies and assualts it can be very frightening. But when you feel shaken in such ways, remember the parable of the lost sheep. At that time Jesus said: “What do you think? If a man has a hundred sheep, and one of them has gone astray, does he not leave the ninety-nine on the mountains and go in search of the one that went astray? And if he finds it, truly, I say to you, he rejoices over it more than over the ninety-nine that never went astray” (Matt 18:12-13). Jesus didn’t say the shepherd is standing around twiddling his thumbs waiting and wishing that some of his sheep would go find the lost sheep. No, it is the shepherd himself who goes out and actively hunts for that lost ship until he finds it. So also as Jesus Christ is the great shepherd of our souls so we know with confidence that he himself actively seeks out his lost sheep and he will not stop hunting until he finds them–and Satan will not stop him. This promise of God is our refuge in such trying times.

    Now, as a member of Christ’s body he uses you in his work, but never think his work will come to naught because of you. Remember the words to Esther: “If you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance […] will arise from another place, but you […] will perish.”

    I hope that is an encouragement to you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

