Poem

A rather depressing, wry take… I wrote this during the final month of the long winter, during March. Things are getting better since then in more ways than one. Don’t worry too much, Mom. Writing is based off of the emotions of the moment, and even in the low moment when I wrote this it turned out even more calloused than I felt. But, it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted poetry, so I thought I’d put it up regardless. I’m hoping to post more regularly than I have been, and posting this is a part of that attempt.

 

“You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.”
Or choke you like a collar attached to a leash as you run in the opposite direction.
“The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak”
The spirit is willing…sometimes, but sometimes it flees His protection.

“Ye of little faith.”
I believe, actually. I’m just afraid of dying to myself.
“Acknowledge Him, and he will make your path straight.”
My crooked ways please me so I put God on the shelf.

“Why do the nations rage,
and the people plot in vane?
The kings of the earth
have all joined together
to turn against the Lord and his Annointed saying
“Let’s cut the ropes and set oursleves free.”
But the one who sits in Heaven laughs,
He scoffs at them.
Then, in His anger, He rebukes them.”

Categories: My Life, Poems, rants | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Poem

  1. I like it. But then, I’ve probably written grimmer so I’m not so sensitive to that aspect. And read grimmer from my family. A brother of mine once posted the following reflection:

    Eternally Yours

    O Lucifer, Deceiver, what a great serpent thou art!
    Father of nothing, thou art consumed
    By a private grief thou alone can know.
    Always hungry, never sated,
    Too full of thyself to speak —
    Thou canst not share thy sorrow,
    Thou canst not ask for love.

    O Jacob, O Israel, be not so quick to meat!
    Thou might love thyself to death.

    • Which brother, I wonder? Glad I didn’t scare you away with my darkness. I’m wont to write unhappy things here lately, so I suppose anyone easily offended by such writing is long gone by this point. 😉

      • That was Arlan. I can’t remember if I ever shared anything from his blog with you before.

        I can’t speak for the world, but I think you know pretty well I can’t be scared away by the dark or unhappy. Spent enough time there myself, I know the roads 😉

      • Ahh. I don’t know that you have. Care to share? Yeah, most people have, I think.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

