Poem

Once in a while I’m good for a poem, and it’s been a while since I last posted one, so here for good measure is my once in a while poem.

 

Words fill all the pages.
I finally closed the book…
End to a season brimming
With tragedy and hope.
Each page bears a story;
I can go back and look
The places that I’ve come from,
My past, and all that took
The pieces of my heart
And then ran away or died,
The people that I’ve loved,
The occasions that I’ve cried.
To me it’s sacred ground,
or rather, pages there inside.
Chapters of my journey…
Tell me, what is yet to come?
What will the final page say
When my life is gone and done?
One journal is complete now.
Another will soon begin.
I wonder, oh I wonder,
what stories will it hold within?

Categories: Poems | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Poem

  1. Very, very, good! If I remember some of your old poems well enough, I think I might like the poetic imagery of some previous better than this one (in particular one where you used the sea imagery I liked). But structurally this may be the best crafted poem you have shared to date. The flow of the words really captures what you have been through.

    It inspired me to write a poem in response. I just whipped this off, so don’t judge me for the quality 😉

    If The Word be written on your pages
    His pen marking each blood bought line
    Then we read assurances in every stanza
    the strokes of grace through all ages

    Though some chapters be hard
    And some lines tear blotched
    the story never lacks in wonder or worth
    even in mystery, and pain like a shard

    My God My God we might cry
    But “It is finished” He has said
    His hand tracing every letter, holding every word
    Even the sparrows that fly

    When your story ends
    And the last chapter closes
    The Word will be
    “All is grace” our final commend

  2. Didn’t expect a poetic reply. 😉 Very nice, very true, well done. As far as structure I basically use it when it works and abandon it the other 90% of the time. I took classes from a college professor at Moody for a short time for my writing, and she basically threw structure to the wind. Since then (in all the poetry you’ve seen) I’ve been less picky about it. She valued content over structure which makes sense to a point. This isn’t one of my favorite, deep poems. You caught me on that. Haha. But, I’m glad you enjoyed it, and were inspired to write your poetic response. Ta ta.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

